Back to top

Get to know your active Chief Executive

May 2019

How did you get to where you are today?
I started as a town planner in local government dealing with communities and developers. Through a lot of dedication, hard work, and a love for what I do, I managed to climb the ranks. After 16 years in local government I decided to become a consultant. From there I ended up at the Department of Planning as a Director, where I worked for four and a half years. In this role I worked on some large-scale projects such as West Connex, CBD Light Rail and North Connex, and learnt a lot about the machination of government.

I was then lucky enough to go on maternity leave to have my little boy. I used this time to really think about what it was I wanted to do. I always thought I wanted to work for the not-for-profit sector, so I volunteered at Habitat for Humanity for six months. It definitely cemented in my mind that I wanted to be more government and community focused. Then a job came up at the Office of Sport and I knew it would be perfect for me -  it combined that really strong social element with my infrastructure background.  I’ve been working at the Office of Sport since August 2017 and absolutely love what I do.

What do you value most about the Office of Sport’s vision?
It’s definitely about the impact we can make. Investments into places and spaces means that people can be out there in safe environments playing the sport that they love. The programs we run mean more people can participate. Active Kids is a great example - by financially helping families this has a flow-on effect to children having more active and healthy lifestyles.

We contribute to the vision every day in everything that we do, and we should be really proud of that.

What is an achievement you’re most proud of (work or personal)?
I volunteer in the Big Brother Big Sister program, so I’m a Big Sister to a Little Sister who’s a refugee from Sierra Leone. I’ve been her Big Sister for nine years and she’s just amazing. She comes from an underprivileged background, and to see her grow and to achieve what she has in a really tough environment has been incredibly rewarding. So my biggest achievement is that I’ve hopefully had a positive influence on her.

What do you enjoy doing in your free time?
I’m really close to my family and have a lot of long-standing friendships. Spending time with them is what I enjoy the most. Apart from chasing after my two and half year-old son, I also run around after my 17 year-old step-son. He’s rugby and basketball obsessed, so like any other parent I’m constantly on the sidelines on the weekend, but I love it.

I’m also a member of the Country Women’s Association. I love hearing about their new knitting projects, the new cake they’ve baked, as well as helping with fundraising. Plus, there’s the tea and scones!

How would your peers describe you in three words?
I think they would say that I’m driven. Hopefully they’ll say that I’m open – I’m always supportive and encouraging of new ideas. And they would probably say that I’m a little bit different, in that I don’t follow the mold of a typical public servant.